Mississippi Special Election: Unofficial Results

A Special Election was held Tuesday to fill four legislative vacancies.  The unofficial results are coming in.

It appears, in House District 66, De’Keither A. Stamps and Robert C. ‘Bob” Lee Jr., are heading to a runoff.

House District 66, in Hinds County, was held by Jarvis Dortch who resigned in early July.  Dortch was later named as the Executive Director of the ACLU in Mississippi.    

The following totals for Senate District 15 and House District 37 were reported by WCBI-TV in Columbus.  All totals are pending until marked final.

Senate District 15, which includes portions of Oktibbeha, Choctaw, Webster, and Montgomery counties, was held by Gary Jackson of French Camp.  Jackson, who left the Senate in late June citing health concerns, had served for 17 years. 

Image courtesy of WCBI-TV

House District 37, which covers Clay, Lowndes, and Oktibbeha counties, was previously held by Gary Chism of Columbus, who retired on June 30th.  Chism had served in the legislature since 1999. 

Image courtesy of WCBI-TV

In Senate District 39, Bill Sones and Jason Barrett may also face off again in a runoff.  Here are the unofficial results of that race:

  • Bill Sones 2,681
  • Jason Barrett 2,414
  • Michael Smith ­­­1,401
  • Beth Brown 1,385
  • Prentiss Smith ­­­797
  • Ben Johnson ­­­647
  • Cindy Bryan ­­­389
  • Michael Campbell ­­­337
  • Josh Davis ­­­ 282

Senate District 39, which encompasses Copiah, Lawrence, Lincoln, and Walthall counties, was held by Sally Doty of Brookhaven until she resigned in mid-July.  Doty was then appointed by Governor Tate Reeves as Executive Director of the Mississippi Public Utilities Staff.

Runoffs will be held on October 13, 2020.

This story will continue to be updated.

The post Mississippi Special Election: Unofficial Results appeared first on News Mississippi.