Seven additional counties placed under mask mandate, stricter guidelines

Governor Tate Reeves has added seven new counties to the recently issued executive order placing additional guidelines on hotspot counties as COVID-19 cases rise. 

Initially announced last week, the order has been expanded to include the following counties: 

Benton, Carroll, Harrison, Jones, Leake, Madison & Marshall

In these counties, indoor social gatherings are limited to 10 people or less and outdoor social gatherings are limited to 50. Masks are required while indoors and when social distancing is not possible. A total of 16 counties are now under the order which is set to expire on November 11th. 

With election day just over a week away, the governor explained that there is an exception for polling precincts, meaning that masks will not be required to vote in person in these counties. He went on to say that he does recommend that everyone wear a mask when they go to vote. 

This morning, the MSDH confirmed 675 new COVID-cases, bringing the state’s total up to 115,763.  3,263 Mississippians have passed away from the virus.

During today’s briefing, Governor Reeves was joined by State Health Officer Dr. Thomas Dobbs to discuss a safe approach to Halloween and MEMA Executive Director Greg Michel, who gave an update on Hurricane Zeta’s potential impact on Mississippi. 

Watch the full briefing below: 

The post Seven additional counties placed under mask mandate, stricter guidelines appeared first on News Mississippi.